Friday, September 21, 2012
DRI Professional Liability Seminar, December 6-7
DRI’s Professional Liability
Seminar is scheduled for December 6-7, 2012 at the Sheraton Hotel in New York City. Click here for details. The seminar is dedicated to addressing the educational needs of attorneys and
insurers who protect the interests of all types of professionals, from lawyers
and accountants to insurance producers and those involved in the construction
and design industry. Its seminar will include leading experts in the field who
will provide important updates to ensure that you have the information you
need.
New York Court Addresses Application of Pending And Prior Exclusion
In
its recent decision in Executive Risk
Indem., Inc. v Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Inc., 2012 NY Slip
Op 6183 (N.Y. 1st Dep’t Sept. 18, 2012), New York’s Appellate
Division, First Department, had occasion to consider the application of a
pending and prior exclusion in a professional liability policy.
The
coverage dispute in the Executive Risk
decision arose out of Starwood’s right to coverage for an underlying suit
involving a contract between Starwood and another party for the construction
and management of a luxury hotel.
Starwood was sued for an amount in excess of $18 million for allegedly
having caused delays and cost overruns on the project by failing to have
fulfilled its responsibilities in implementing the hotel’s design. Notably, plaintiff wrote a demand letter to
Starwood in October 2005 and later brought suit in July 2006. In August 2006, Starwood tendered its defense
to its professional liability carrier, Executive Risk, which had issued
successive claims made and reported professional liability policies to Starwood
for the periods April 2005 to June 2006 and from June 2006 to June 2007. Starwood sought coverage under the 05-06
policy, or any other policy that may be applicable.
Executive
Risk denied coverage under the 05-06 policy on the basis that the claim was not
first made and reported under that policy.
It also denied coverage under the 06-07 policy on the basis that
plaintiff’s October 2005 claim letter and the subsequent lawsuit constituted a
single claim, which necessarily was not first made during the 06-07 policy
period. Executive Risk also denied
coverage under the 06-07 policy based on the application of a “prior pending” exclusion. The lower court granted summary judgment in
favor of Starwood, concluding that the claim was first made during the 06-07
policy period and that the exclusion was inapplicable.
On
appeal, the court agreed that the claim could not be considered first made
under the 05-06 policy. The court’s
reasoning was based on way in which the term “professional services” was
defined in the 05-06 policy versus how it was defined in the renewal. In the 05-06 policy, the “professional
services” was defined as “[f]ranchiser,
hotel and property manager, mortgage banker, mortgage broker, travel agent,
title agent, real estate agent and real estate broker as well as incidental and
related computer and print publishing services.” In the subsequent policy, however, “professional
services” was more broadly defined to also include “interior and exterior
design and decorating consulting services.”
To qualify as a “claim” under either policy, the claimant had to bring
suit or make a demand seeking to hold the insured responsible for a “wrongful
act,” which in turn was defined as an act, error or omission in the insured’s
“professional services.”
The court agreed with
Starwood that underlying plaintiff’s October 2005 letter did not implicated an
identified “professional service” under the 05-06 policy, since that policy’s
definition of “professional services” did not include design work. As a result, reasoned the court, the
plaintiff’s October 2005 letter did not allege a “wrongful act,” and it
therefore followed that the letter did not qualify as a “claim” as that term
was specifically defined. The court
further held, however, that the July 2006 lawsuit, which also related to
Starwood’s design services, and was filed during the 06-07 policy, qualified as
a claim first made and reported during that policy period, since the 06-07
policy’s definition of “professional services” included Starwood’s design work.
While the court concluded
that the lawsuit fell within the 06-07 policy’s insuring agreement in the first
instance, it nevertheless concluded that the policy’s “prior pending” exclusion
operated as a bar to coverage. The
exclusion stated that coverage was unavailable “based upon, arising from, or in
consequence of any written demand, suit, or other proceeding pending, or order,
decree or judgment entered for or against any insured on or prior to [the June
10, 2006 inception date], or the same or substantially similar fact,
circumstance or situation underlying or alleged therein.” Starwood argued that the October 2005 demand
letter did not trigger this exclusion since a demand letter could not be
“pending” within the meaning of the exclusion.
Specifically, Starwood contended that “a demand is not generally
understood to be something that is undecided or awaiting decision in the same
sense as a judicial proceeding.” The
court found Starwood’s argument flawed since it would render meaningless the
word “demand” as used in the exclusion.
The court further observed that the term “pending” is generally defined
as “in question,” “open to discussion,” “under consideration” or “still under
consideration.” The court concluded that
“[w]ithout doubt, these synonyms all describe the status of [plaintiff’s] demand
when the 06-07 policy commenced on June 10, 2006.”
Wednesday, September 19, 2012
Sixth Circuit Holds Excess Insurer’s Coverage Obligations Not Triggered
In
its recent decision in Goodyear Tire
& Rubber Co. v. Nat'l Union Fire Insurance Company of Pittsburgh, PA,
2012 FED App. 0337P (6th Cir. Sept. 18, 2012), the United States Court of
Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, applying Ohio law, had occasion to consider
whether an excess insurer’s coverage obligations were triggered when the primary
policy’s limit of liability was not fully exhausted.
Goodyear
had a primary layer directors and officers policy with National Union with a
limit of liability of $15 million. It
also had an excess policy issued by Federal Insurance Company with a limit of
liability of $10 million, excess of the National Union policy. Notably, Federal’s policy contained an
exhaustion provision stating that “[c]overage hereunder shall attach only after
[National Union] shall have paid in legal currency the full amount of the
Underlying Limit [i.e., National Union's policy limit of $15 million] for such
Policy Period.”
Goodyear
sought coverage from its insurers for a series of underlying shareholder class actions,
and an SEC investigation, arising out of a restatement of Goodyear’s earnings. While the suits ultimately were dismissed and
the investigation terminated, Goodyear’s legal fees amounted to $30
million. National Union and Federal both
disputed coverage for Goodyear’s legal fees, prompting Goodyear to file a
declaratory judgment action against both insurers. After litigating this action for several
years, Goodyear entered into a settlement and release with National Union for
$10 million. Federal subsequently argued
that as a result of this settlement, its own policy could not be triggered
since National Union had not and never would pay “in legal currency the full
amount of the Underlying Limit.” On
motion for summary judgment, the United States District Court for the District
of Michigan, applying Ohio law, held in Federal’s favor.
In
its decision on appeal, the Sixth Circuit telegraphed its decision by
characterizing Goodyear’s appeal as being “the latest in a series of recent
cases in which one corporation asks us to disregard the plain terms of its
insurance agreement with another corporation.” Goodyear, in fact, conceded that
the exhaustion provision in Federal’s
policy was clear and unambiguous.
It nevertheless argued on appeal that the Federal policy should be
triggered for two reasons despite the fact that National Union had not paid its
full policy limits.
First,
argued Goodyear, Ohio strong public policy favoring settlements should trump
the exhaustion language in the Federal policy.
In other words, Goodyear should
not be penalized for having settled its coverage dispute with National
Union. In support of this argument,
Goodyear cited to two cases involving underinsured motorist policies in which
the plaintiffs settled with the tortfeasors’ carrier for less than full policy
limits and then sought coverage under their own underinsured motorist coverage. In these cases – Bogan v. Progressive Casualty Ins. Co., 521 N.E.2d 447 (Ohio 1988)
and Fulmer v. Insura Prop. & Casualty
Co., 760 N.E.2d 392 (Ohio 2002), Ohio’s Supreme Court refused to “strictly
enforce” the exhaustion provision in the plaintiff’s underinsured motorist
policies. The Sixth Circuit concluded,
however, that the public policy concerns in Bogan
and Fulmer were unique to
underinsured motorist coverage and were not present in the context of
commercial lines coverage:
Underinsured-motorist coverage was mandated under Ohio law at
the time of the accidents in Bogan
and Fulmer, see Ohio R.C. § 3937.18(A)(2); and the court in Bogan held that the exhaustion provision
there was contrary to "the intent of the General Assembly as expressed
in" the statute mandating such coverage, 521 N.E.2d at 453. We do not have
any such conflict with legislative intent here, which is reason enough not to
apply Bogan or Fulmer. Nor do we have any concern about "hasten[ing] the
payment to the injured party who obviously needs compensation soon after the
injuries when the medical expenses begin to amass and when the anxiety level is
probably quite high[,]" id. at
451—which is still more reason not to apply those cases. What we have, instead,
is an insurance agreement into which sophisticated parties freely entered.
Goodyear
also argued that Federal should not be able to avoid a coverage obligation
because it was not prejudiced as a result of its settlement with National
Union. The Sixth Circuit also found this
argument unavailing, concluding that prejudice was not a relevant
consideration:
But this case does not concern a mere notice or cooperation
requirement, which perhaps we could wave off absent any real harm to the
insurer. Rather, the provision at issue here is where the rubber hits the road:
the agreement's Insuring Clause, under whose terms Federal undisputedly did not
agree to provide the coverage that Goodyear now seeks.
Thus,
the Sixth Circuit affirmed the lower court’s ruling, concluding that Federal
had no coverage obligation to Goodyear as a result of its less than policy
limits settlement with National Union.
Friday, September 14, 2012
Arizona Court Considers Coverage Under An Employment Benefit Endorsement
In
its recent decision in Enterprising
Solutions, Inc. v. National Union Fire Ins. Co. of Pittsburgh, PA (D. Ariz.
Sept. 11, 2012), the United States District Court for the District of Arizona
had occasion to consider whether an insured was entitled to coverage under a
professional liability policy’s employee benefits liability coverage for its
alleged failure to have properly calculated necessary contributions to fund a
group medical and dental plan.
The
insured, Enterprising Solutions, Inc. (“ESI”) was a professional employer
organization, providing outsourced services such as payroll administration to
employer-clients. ESI and its clients
would enter into “co-employer agreements” whereby it would assume various
employer-related responsibilities. Through
these agreements, ESI became a co-employer of its clients’ employees. At issue in the Enterprising Solutions litigation was ESI’s administration of an
employee health benefit program and an employee dental plan. Among other things, ESI assumed
responsibility for determining the amount of contributions necessary to fund
the plans. The contribution levels
established for the 2008 and 2009 plans turned out to be insufficient to cover claims
and expenses, causing ESI it to terminate the plans. As a result, ESI was the subject of numerous
claims brought by plan participants.
National
Union insured ESI under a Staffing Services Liability Policy, providing
professional liability coverage ESI’s employment-related administrative
services. Of relevance, the policy
excluded from coverage the “Insured’s failure to fulfill any duty or obligation
imposed by Employment Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, including
amendments to that law, or similar federal, state, or local statutory or common
law.” Also relevant to the coverage
dispute was an Employee Benefit Liability (“EBL”) endorsement, which insured:
… all sums which you shall become legally obligated to pay as
damages because of any claim made against you for “wrongful acts” arising out
of “administration” of your “employee benefits program,” …
The
EBL endorsement defined “administration” as:
(a) giving
counsel to employees with respect to your “employee benefits program”;
(b) interpreting
your “employee benefits” program”;
(c) handling
of records in connection with your “employee benefits program”; or
(d) effective
enrollment, termination or cancellation of “employee” under your “employee
benefits programs”
provided any action which gives rise to a “Wrongful Act” was
authorized by you.
The
EBL endorsement also contained an exclusion barring coverage for “all sums
which you shall become legally obligated to pay as a loss because of any
‘breach of fiduciary duty’ or because of any ‘breach of fiduciary duty’ by any
person for whom you are legally responsible and arising out of your activities
as a fiduciary of any plan covered by this endorsement.”
National
Union argued, among other things, that the underlying claims were not covered, as
the claims did not result from a “wrongful act” and that in any event, the
claims were excluded from coverage as a result of the ERISA exclusion and the
breach of fiduciary duty exclusion. The court agreed, albeit skeptically, that
ESI’s alleged conduct constituted “wrongful acts” as that term was defined. It nevertheless concluded that exclusions
barred coverage for the conduct alleged.
Specifically, the court held that ESI’s responsibilities in determining
the level of necessary contributions did not fall within the policy’s
definition of “administration,” reasoning that it could find no authority for
the proposition that “discretionary decision-making activities,” such as determining
contributions, qualify as “administration” of an employee benefit plan. The court further noted that:
Plaintiff's calculation of contribution levels involved the
exercise of discretion and was not, therefore, merely administrative. In that
respect, plaintiff's exercise of discretion in failing to properly calculate
contributions is not included within the definition of
"administration" and is beyond the scope of the policy.
The
court also concluded that even if ESI’s miscalculation of contributions could
be considered “administration” of an employee benefits program, the
miscalculation was still undertaken in ESI’s fiduciary capacity to the plan
participants. “Fiduciary,” the court
observed, is defined by ERISA as:
[A] person is a fiduciary with respect to a plan to the extent
(I) he exercises any discretionary authority or discretionary control
respecting management of such plan or exercises any authority or control
respecting management or disposition of its assets; (ii) he renders investment
advice for a fee or other compensation, direct or indirect, with respect to any
moneys or other property of such plan, or has any authority or responsibility
to do so, or (iii) he has any discretionary authority or discretionary
responsibility in the administration of the plan.
The
court concluded that ESI qualified as a fiduciary as it had “control and
authority” over the health and dental plans.
Specifically, the court found that ESI’s miscalculation of necessary
contributions “was, indeed, the exercise of discretion relating to plan
management and administration and was, consequently, subject to ERISA fiduciary
standards.” As such, the court concluded
that the policy’s ERISA and breach of fiduciary duties exclusions served as
additional grounds for noncoverage.
Tuesday, September 11, 2012
Delaware Supreme Court Considers Exhaustion of Underlying Coverage
In
its recent decision in Intel Corp. v.
American Guarantee & Liability Insurance Co., 2012 Del. LEXIS 480 (Del.
Sept. 7, 2012), the Supreme Court of Delaware, in a case involving application
of California law, had occasion to consider whether an insured’s out-of-pocket
payment of defense costs count toward exhaustion of policy limits for the
purpose of triggering an excess policy.
The Intel decision is yet the latest
decision in a complicated coverage case that has proceeded in both Delaware
state court and California federal court.
The coverage litigation arises out of several class action antitrust
lawsuits filed against Intel. In the
relevant policy year, Intel had a primary general liability policy issued by
Old Republic with limits of liability of $5 million, and an excess policy
issued by XL Insurance Company with limits of liability of $50 million. Immediately excess to the XL policy was a
follow form excess liability policy issued by American Guarantee &
Liability Insurance Co. (“AGLI”). As a
result of coverage litigation between XL and Intel, XL paid to Intel $27.5
million of its $50 million policy limits.
Intel continued to pay defense costs out-of-pocket following this
settlement. Intel claimed that AGLI’s policy was triggered as a result of its
payment of sufficient defense costs.
AGLI, however, contended that the XL policy could only be exhausted as a
result of payments made by XL.
Complicating
the court’s analysis was the fact that the AGLI policy contained two provisions
concerning when AGLI’s coverage obligations were triggered. After determining which provision controlled,
the court considered the intent of that provision’s language, which stated:
C. Nothing
contained in this Endorsement shall obligate us to provide a duty to defend any
claim or suit before the Underlying Insurance Limits shown in Item 6 of the
Declarations are exhausted by payment of
judgments or settlements. (Emphasis
supplied.)
The
court concluded that under California law, the phrase “payments of judgments or
settlements” could not be interpreted to include payments by the insured. “Judgments,” the court explained, refers to a
decision by an adjudicative body, whereas “settlements” refers to agreements
between parties to a dispute. Intel’s
payment of its own defense costs, reasoned the court, were payment of neither
judgments nor settlements. As the court
explained:
California law does not provide a definitive interpretation of
the phrase “payment of judgments or settlements.” Although not dispositive of our holding, we
note that California courts general have construed the phrase to exclude cases
where the insured “credits” the underlying insurance carrier with the remaining
policy limits. That is, courts have required
the actual payment of the full underlying limits. The requirement of actual payment supports
our plain meaning interpretation of “judgments or settlements” to exclude
Intel’s direct payment of defense costs, and require actual payment by the
insurer.
In
reaching this holding, the Delaware Supreme Court relied on the California
Court of Appeals decision in Qualcomm,
Inc. v. Certain Underwriters At Lloyd’s London, 73 Cal.Rptr.3d 770 (Cal.
Ct. App. 2008). The Qualcomm court held that an insured could not trigger its excess
policy by paying the gap created when it settled with its primary insurer for
less than full policy limits. The Delaware Supreme Court acknowledged that the
exhaustion language in the policy in Qualcomm
was slightly different than that contained in the AGLI policy, but it nevertheless
found a general rule that “[p]lain policy language on exhaustion, such as that
contained in Paragraph C [of the AGLI policy], will control despite competing
public policy concerns.” Moreover, the
court rejected Intel’s reliance on the Second Circuit decision in Zeig v. Massachusetts Bonding &
Insurance Co., 23 F.2d 665 (2d Cir. 1928), which held that an insured can
properly exhaust a policy by out-of-pocket payments. Zeig,
noted the Delaware court, had been rejected by the Qualcomm court and courts in other jurisdictions as well.
Friday, September 7, 2012
Florida Court Affirms Late Notice Disclaimer
In
its recent decision in Wheeler's Moving
& Storage v. Markel Ins. Co., 2012 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 125726 (S.D. Fla.
Sept. 5, 2012), the United States District Court for the Southern District of
Florida had occasion to consider under what circumstances an insured’s failure
to comply with a policy’s notice provision results in a forfeiture of coverage.
Markel
Insurance Company insured Wheeler’s Moving & Storage under a general
liability policy that, among other things, required notice of occurrence or
suit “as soon as practicable.” Wheeler’s
was named as a defendant in a personal injury lawsuit, but failed to give
notice of the suit to Markel until eighteen months after suit was filed, by
which time discovery had already closed.
At the time notice was received, a mediation was scheduled for one week
later and the trial scheduled for two weeks later. Markel denied coverage on the basis of late
notice, as well as on the basis of its policy’s auto exclusion. Subsequent to Markel’s denial of coverage, Wheeler’s
defense counsel successfully withdrew from the case and Wheeler’s elected not
to retain new counsel. The matter
ultimately went to trial on damages alone and the underlying plaintiff was
awarded $1.4 million.
Wheeler’s
later sued for coverage, arguing that Markel’s late notice disclaimer was
invalid. On motion for summary judgment,
the court began its analysis by observing that under Florida law, an insured’s
failure to provide timely notice creates a “rebuttable presumption of prejudice to the insurer.” Thus, it is the insured’s burden to prove
that its late notice did not result in prejudice to the insurer. Notwithstanding, it is the insurer’s burden of
showing a lack of any material facts as to “(1) what the policy required with
respect to notice, (2) when notice was provided, within the meaning of the
policy and Florida law, (3) whether notice was timely, and (4) whether
prejudice exists, either by operation of the unrebutted presumption or
otherwise.”
In considering these factors,
the court agreed that Wheeler’s failure to have provided notice to Markel of
the underlying suit until eighteen months into the litigation -after discovery
had closed and on the eve of trial - was late as a matter of law. Notice as soon as practicable, as required by
the Markel policy, required that notice be given with reasonable dispatch and
within a reasonable time in view of the facts and circumstances. As the court explained, “[n]o reasonable
interpretation of the record evidence supports a finding that notice was
timely.” As such, Markel was entitled to
a presumption of prejudice.
Wheeler’s attempted to rebut
this presumption by proffering two expert opinions concluding that Markel was
not prejudiced and, in fact, that Markel had breached its policy obligations by
not undertaking a thorough investigation into whether Wheeler’s late notice
actually prejudiced its ability to defend the underlying case. The court rejected this assertion, explaining
that because prejudice is presumed, Markel was not required to undertake an
investigation into prejudice. The court
also rejected the experts’ opinions concerning Markel’s ability to defend the
underlying case, concluding that the opinions were based on speculation only
and without any credible supporting evidence.
Wheeler’s also argued that
Markel was not entitled to rely on the late notice defense since it also denied
coverage on the basis of its policy’s auto exclusion. Wheeler’s specifically argued that “[w]here
an insurer possesses enough information to permit it to deny the claim on other
grounds, Florida courts have consistently held that an insurer waives the right
to reject coverage on the basis that the insured failed to provide timely
notice of the claim.” This argument relied
on the decision in Keenan Hopkins Schmidt
and Stowell Contractors, Inc. v. Continental Cas. Co., 653 F. Supp. 2d
1255, 1263 (M.D. Fla. 2009), in which a Florida federal district court held that
the insured successfully rebutted a presumption of prejudice by demonstrating
that the insurer was able to fully investigate and determine the application of
a policy exclusion.
The court held that Wheeler’s
attempt to broaden the Keenan
decision was unavailing, since by Wheeler’s reasoning “no insurer would ever be
able to assert late notice as a defense unless it was the sole basis of a
denial of coverage.” Moreover, the court
found Keenan inapplicable to the
facts involving Wheeler’s:
The
facts in Keenan and in the instant case, however, are radically
different. In Keenan, the insurer had ten months notice and was able to
investigate the claim, whereas in this case, Markel effectively had no notice
and no ability to conduct discovery. Wheeler's asserts that Markel had an
opportunity to investigate potential coverage defenses prior to the entry of
judgment and had sufficient information to deny coverage on other grounds other
than the late notice defense. These assertions are rejected.
Thus, concluded the court,
Wheeler’s failed to rebut the presumption of prejudice, thereby entitling
Markel to judgment as a matter of law based on the insured’s failure to comply
with its policy’s notice provision.
Wednesday, September 5, 2012
Second Circuit Considers Excess Insurer’s Duty to Defend
In
its recent decision in Preferred Constr.,
Inc. v. Ill. Nat'l Ins. Co., 2012 U.S. App. LEXIS 18395 (2d Cir. Aug. 30,
2012), the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, applying New
York law, had occasion to consider when an excess insurer’s duty to defend is
triggered, particularly in the context of New York’s anti-subrogation rule.
Preferred
Construction was a subcontractor on a construction project involving a cemetery
owned by the Diocese of Rockville Center.
One of Preferred Construction’s employees was injured while on the job,
and brought suit against the cemetery, the Diocese, and the project’s general
contractor. Each of these entities
tendered their defense to Preferred Construction, which was insured under a
primary general liability policy issued by Nova Casualty Company and an excess
liability policy issued by Illinois National.
Nova undertook a defense of each of these entities.
Each
of these three parties subsequently asserted third-party claims for
contribution and indemnification against Preferred Construction, but only for “any
recovery that plaintiff may obtain in excess of the primary policy limits of [Preferred
Construction].” Presumably, the third-party
complaint was alleged in such a fashion so as to circumvent New York’s
anti-subrogation rule, which prohibits one insured from suing another insured
under the same policy for amounts within the policy limits. Nova tendered the third-party complaint directly
to Illinois National, asserting that Illinois National had a duty to defend
Preferred Construction because the third-party complaint sought amounts only in
excess of the Nova policy, i.e., amounts that only could be paid under the
Illinois National policy.
In
considering Illinois National’s duties to Preferred Construction, the Second
Circuit observed the general rule that an excess insurer’s obligations are not
triggered until exhaustion of underlying limits, and that while an excess
insurer may elect to participate in the defense of its insured, it generally
has no obligation to do so. Such duties
were clearly stated in the language of Illinois National’s excess policy. Thus, the court concluded, Illinois
National’s obligations under its policy, including its duty to defend, could only
be triggered upon full exhaustion of the Nova policy. That the third-party complaint sought amounts
only in excess of the Nova policy’s limits was irrelevant, as the court
explained:
The fact that the third-party complaint seeks indemnification
only for "any recovery that plaintiff may obtain in excess of the primary
policy limits" does not change this result. Requiring Illinois National to
defend in these circumstances would effectively permit any claim of excess
damages to preemptively trigger the excess insurer's duty to defend—regardless
of when (or whether) the limits of the primary policy are exhausted. Such a
result would appear to eviscerate the general rule that the excess insurer
"may elect to participate in an insured's defense to protect its interest,
[but] . . . has no obligation to do so."
In
reaching its holding, the court considered Nova’s and Preferred Construction’s
argument concerning New York’s anti-subrogation rule, which states that “[a]n
insurer… has no right of subrogation against its own insured for a claim
arising from the very risk for which the insured was covered.” N. Star
Reins. Corp. v. Cont'l Ins. Co., 604 N.Y.S.2d 510 (1993). The Second Circuit acknowledged that pursuant
to the anti-subrogation rule, Preferred Construction could only be sued by the
additional insureds under the Nova policy for amounts in excess of that
policy’s $1 million limits. The court
nevertheless concluded that this rule did not trump the more basic rule of
underlying exhaustion:
Whatever effect the anti-subrogation rule might have on Nova's
duty to defend (an issue on which we express no opinion), it is clear enough
for our purposes that the rule cannot operate to defeat the reasonable
expectations of Preferred Construction and Illinois National. We find no
authority permitting us to depart from New York's well-settled rule that an
excess carrier has a right, not an obligation, to assist in the defense of its
insured when the primary insurance has not yet been exhausted.
Subscribe to:
Posts
(
Atom
)